NEWS 23 August 2022

Who will you recommend for the Wim van der Hoek Award 2022?

Recommend your best graduate before September 9, 2022

The Wim van der Hoek Award is an annual prize awarded to the student with the best graduation project in the field of
mechanical engineering. In 2022 the prize will be awarded for the 17th time.

We are requesting technical universities and colleges in the Netherlands and Flanders to submit their students’ graduation reports before 9 September. An expert jury assesses the reports and selects the nominees from them; In the evening (September 26, October 3 or 10) these nominees give a presentation to the jury via Teams, who then chooses a winner based on presentation and report. The winner will be announced on November 17 at the Precision Fair.

The winner will receive 1000 euros, an original trophy and a framed certificate. The other nominees will receive a
certificate. All nominees may submit an abstract for the DSPE Conference 2023 and if awarded the opportunity to give a lecture or display a poster (with or without demonstration), participate in the DSPE Conference 2023 free of charge (datetbd September 2023).

The prize is intended to bring greater attention to the area of design in mechanical engineering. The name of the prize refers to Emeritus Professor Wim van der Hoek, who from 1962 to 1985 laid the foundations for the unique Dutch method of design in mechanical engineering at TU Eindhoven.

Graduation reports from the academic year 2021/2022 may be submitted if the graduation date is between 1 Augustus 2021 and 31 July 2022. When assessing the graduation reports, the quality of the design, substantiation and innovativeness of the chosen solutions are the criteria, as well as the possibility to serve as an example in the book Construction Principles. Candidates must be nominated by the graduation supervisor, graduation teacher or lecturer/professor.

The trophy has been manufactured by Leiden Instrument Makers School LiS; the prize money is offered by High Tech Systems Center that is part of the Eindhoven Artificial Intelligence Systems Institute van de TU Eindhoven.

The jury
The 2022 jury consists of: Johan Vervoort (Vervos), Maurice Teuwen (JPE), Wouter Vogelesang (VH Consult), Marc Vermeulen (ASML) Hans Steijaert (Vanderlande Industries) en juryvoorzitter Jos Gunsing (MaromeTech)

Click here for more information about the Wim van der Hoek award 2021.


Fourfold ECP2 Bronze

This summer, four people were awarded a Bronze certificate from ECP2, a European certified precision engineering course programme that is a collaboration between euspen and DSPE.

Read more
Measuring (the refractive index of)…

Measuring nanoparticles becomes increasingly important in healthcare, pharmacology, and environmental sciences, but measuring and obtaining relevant information from single nanoparticles requires cutting-edge technology.

Read more
Minimising spherical aberrations

Temperature-controlled optical profilometry has historically been a difficult procedure due to imaging issues caused by spherical aberrations.

Read more