Wim van der Hoek Award

The Wim van der Hoek Award is awarded to promote and stimulate precision mechanics and the design of mechanical structures. The award will be given to the best graduation work. The award is named after the emeritus professor Wim van der Hoek, who founded the unique Dutch method for design of precision machinery, at the Technical University of Eindhoven. (1962-1985).

Wim van der Hoek Award 2019

DDP worthy
The Wim van der Hoek Award 2019 eventually went to Sven klein Avink, who studied Mechanical Engineering at Saxion University of Applied Sciences and the UT. This spring, he graduated from the UT on the incorporation of visco-elastic elements in elastic hinge constructions to absorb the effects of overconstraining. According to the panel of judges, this work adds an extra paragraph, and "explicitly a material property component", to Des Duivels Prentenboek (DDP), "The Devil's Picture Book", Wim van der Hoek's principal work. "Sven approaches the theme analytically, numerically as well as experimentally; thereby he creates optimum understanding. The work offers extra possibilities for designers to extend the working range of leafspring constructions. He gives an excellent quantification of the visco-elastic effects down to the level of the impact on the eigenmodes / eigenfrequencies." The panel of judges jury also sees opportunities for a follow-up: "We would like to propose the generalisation to other elastic hinge constructions and / or the application to a complete construction."

Sven klein Avink. Winner of the Wim van der Hoek Award 2019


The art of mechanical design is highly regarded in the Dutch high-tech industry. One of the founders of this discipline, Wim van der Hoek, worked for Philips’s production mechanisation and was a part-time professor at Eindhoven University of Technology. While he passed away earlier this year at the age of 94, his ideas, laid down in a series of well-known mechanical engineering design principles, are still highly topical. New generations of designers build on them, as witnessed by the nominations for the 2019 Wim van der Hoek Award.


The Wim van der Hoek Award is presented every year to the person with the best graduation project in the field of design in mechanical engineering at the universities of technology and universities of applied sciences in the Netherlands and Belgium. Criteria for the assessment of the graduation theses include the quality of the design, its substantiation and innovativeness, as well as its suitability for use in teaching materials. This year the jury, under the presidency of DSPE board member Jos Gunsing (MaromeTech), received three nominations, submitted by the graduation supervisor/professor of each student concerned.



Candidates for 2019:


Paul van den Hoogenhof (TU/e)
Design of a thermally actuated objective lens focus system
“In his work on a lens focus system, Paul has shown competency in the mechanical design for nanometer-accurate positioning, as well as on a broader level in the full system design and integration by combining analytical modelling, simulations and experimental verification. Along with a design that more closely matches the desired operating range of the existing system, Paul has taken promising steps towards creating and controlling relatively fast thermal actuators that allow for very accurate and stable positioning. He has demonstrated good analytical skills and an ability to practically apply his knowledge to a variety of fields in an industrial environment.”

Sven Klein Avink (University of Twente)
Flexure mechanism with increased dynamic performance by overconstraining using viscoelastic material
“Sven has shown himself to be a multidisciplinary and enthusiastic student, who combined a good understanding of design principles and numerical analysis with an eagerness to explore the field of rubber technology. He studied a way of overcoming the limits that are imposed by the commonly used design principle of exact-constrained design. To that end, he developed a visco-elastic material and demonstrated in a self-designed set-up how it can be used to ‘overconstrain’ a flexure mechanism without the usual disadvantage of overconstraining, i.e. a sensitivity to misalignments (assembly tolerances). Sven’s work has the potential to lead to a new design principle in which a custom visco-elastic material is used to combine the best of both worlds, of exactly constrained and overconstrained design, respectively.”

Dominic Scheffers (Fontys University of Applied Sciences)
Hybrid guide – A revolution in translation for the ultra-high-vacuum industry
“In a very short time, Dominic has mastered designing with ceramics, an art that was previously rather unknown to him, and has realised a working prototype of a hybrid straight guide. For example, he demonstrated that his design works well and meets the requirement that the correct pre-tension can easily be applied. The hybrid straight guide also has a much lower rolling resistance than the existing ceramic straight guide and it is quieter. First, Dominic made a thorough analysis of the causes of rolling resistance in the current v-groove guide. He incorporated the results into a creative design that eliminates one of the most important sources of rolling resistance. The basic principle for his design of the guide was completely new and not known from the Koster and Soemers textbooks. He reported clearly and gave a comprehensible oral presentation, during which he could demonstrate the working prototype.”




Hall of Fame:

2019 Sven klein Avink Saxion University of Applied Sciences and the UT news,Nominees
2018 Martin Kristelijn TU/e news
2017 Sam Peerlinck KU Leuven, Belgium news
2016 Niels van Giessen Avans University of Applied Sciences Breda news
2015 Gihin Mok TU Delft news
2014 Marc Damen TU/e news
2013 Marc Janssens TU/e pdf
2012 Stefan Spanjer UTwente pdf(nl)  photo
2011 Alexander Mulder TU Delft pdf(nl) photo
2010 Tim Nai (TIN Yan Nai) TU Delft pdf 
2009 Raymondo Cau TU/e pdf
2008 Volkert van der Wijk TU Delft pdf
2007 Rob van Haendel TU/e  
2006 Erik Manders TU/e  



The jury in the Wim van der Hoek room at Janssen Precision Engineering in Maastricht:


Chairman Jos Gunsing (MaromeTech)
Johan Vervoort (Vervos)

Marc Vermeulen (ASML)

Maurice Teuwen (Janssen Precision Engineering)

Hans Steijaert (VDL ETG)

Wouter Vogelesang (VH Consult)