ir A. Davidson Award

The prize aims to encourage young talent and is intended for a young precision engineer who has worked for some years in a company or institute and who has a demonstrable performance record that has been recognised internally and externally. Candidates must also use their enthusiasm to have a positive effect on young colleagues.


INVITATION for the Ceremony of the Ir. A. Davidson Award 2018

DATE: 14 November 2018, 16.15

LOCATION: central area of the Precision Fair in Veldhoven.


The biennial prize, which was set up in 2005, is named after the authority in the field of precision mechanics at Philips in the 1950s and 60s. The prize comes with a certificate, a sum of money and trophy. This trophy, made by the Leiden Instrument Makers School (LiS), represents the handbook in precision mechanics with which Davidson laid the foundation for the constructors community of Philips.



Ir. A. Davidson Award 2016

The Award Ceremony was held on November 16, 16:15 during the Precision Fair in the Koningshof in Veldhoven.


Wouter Aangenent won the ir. Davidson Award 2016 



This year, the Ir. A. Davidson Award procedure started with a large number of nominees. The panel of judges, however, was unanimous in its decision to honour Wouter Aangenent. He studied Mechanical Engineering at Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e), the Netherlands, and obtained his Ph.D. at the same university in 2008 on a control subject. Subsequently he started within TMC, the high-tech engineering company that encourages its employees to develop their entrepreneurial skills, to work for ASML. In 2010 he was enlisted by the Veldhoven-based lithography machine builder, where he now serves as a control architect and project leader. He has grown to become one of the leading specialists in control/mechatronics. In that capacity he has become a champion of an ASML-wide Way of Working for control design, guaranteeing high performance and robust controller implementation in all machine modules. Wouter Aangenent is very active in transferring his knowledge to, and enthusing (upcoming) talent. For instance, he regularly delivers presentations at conferences and encourages colleagues to do the same. He was one of the initiators of the ASML Servo Control training and provides this training to (new) employees, in the Netherland as well as in the USA.


The full jury report can be downloaded here.


 Winners before:

2014  Rens Henselmans  NTS Group  pdf(nl)
2011  Edwin Bos  Xpress Precision Engineering  pdf(nl) photo
2009  Krijn Bustraan  Philips Apptech  pdf
2007  Martijn Leenders  ASML  pdf
2005  Henk-Jan van der Pol  Demcon  pdf